Although I started composing tangos rather by chance, I soon realised that this style was a way back into rhythm and dance, something that’s been missing from a lot of contemporary classical music in the post-war period. These pieces are mostly concert tangos – although some have been used in dance halls and by tango DJs – and they fuse elements of tango, and influences of Spanish music, with more complex musical structures.

Whether, strictly speaking, these are ‘tangos’ or not (Piazzolla asked himself the same question) they open a door into a world of hypnotic rhythms that underpin clear melodic lines. The emphasis is on the evocative – a shadowy world of slowly changing textures and nuances.

Milonga Azure (2003)
5 mins
vn, bandoneon, ac gtr, pf, db
Milonga Azure – audio
Milonga Azure – score

Citron (2004)
3 mins
fl, asax, elec gtr, pf, db
Citron – audio
Citron – score

Alba (2004)
5 mins
vn/ssax, pf
Alba – audio
Alba – score

Eurydice Sings (2004)
6 mins
ssax, vc, pf
Eurydice Sings – audio
Eurydice Sings – score



Spanish Café (2004)
6 mins
vn/sax, pf
Spanish Café – audio
Spanish Café – score

Pájaros del Mar (2005)
5 mins
fl, vc
Pajaros del Mar – audio

The Stolen Branch (2005)
3 mins
fl, hp
The Stolen Branch – audio
The Stolen Branch – score

The Pale Dancer (2006)
11 mins
saxophone quartet
The Pale Dancer – audio
The Pale Dancer – score